Back to top
Graphic by Chris Lee

Architecture in Dialogue: 14th cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture Symposium

Thu, Nov 19/20 – 12:30pm to 2:30pm


Noura Al Sayeh, Bahrain (Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities)
Aziza Chaouni, Toronto / Fez (Daniels Faculty)
Nondita Correa Mehrotra, Mumbai / Boston (Charles Correa Foundation)
Farrokh Derakshani, Geneva (Aga Khan Award for Architecture)
Andres Lepik, Munich (Architekturmuseum München) 

Moderated by
Brigitte Shim (Daniels Faculty) 

This event celebrates the six winning entries of the 14th cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture. This prestigious award program selects exemplary built work that combines social and ecological concerns with innovative and exemplary design. An award winner, a field reviewer, a member of the master jury, the editor of book Architecture in Dialogue, the Director of the award program and a steering committee member will be in conversation providing an insider’s perspective into this highly regarded award process. Each participant will share the lessons they learned from their part in the 14th award cycle and how this experience has helped shape their views on the future of design. 


Noura Al Sayeh is an architect currently working at the Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities (BACA) as Head of Architectural Affairs. At BACA, she is responsible for overseeing the planning and implementation of cultural institutions and museums as well as the creation of an active agenda of exhibitions and academic exchange initiatives. Noura Al Sayeh was instrumental in the realization of the Revitalisation of Muharraq (Bahrain) which highlights the World Heritage site’s pearling history through a series of restoration and reuse projects which received a 2019 Aga Khan Architecture Award. 


Aziza Chaouni is an associate professor at the Daniels Faculty where she leads the Design Ecological Tourism (DET) lab – a collaborative research platform that investigates the challenges faced by ecotourism in the developing world. She is trained both as an architect and structural engineer and she is the founding principal of Aziza Chaouni Projects. Aziza was a field reviewer for the 14th cycle Aga Khan Architecture Awards visiting shortlisted projects in Senegal and Turkey. 


Nondita Correa Mehrotra is a principal of RMA Architects based in Mumbai and Boston. She is also Director of the Charles Correa Foundation based in Panaji, India. Nondita was a partner at Charles Correa Associates from 1990 – 2014. Nondita was a member of the 2019 Master Jury for the Aga Khan Architecture Award. 


Farrokh Derakshani is the Director of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture. He has been associated with the Award since 1982. His main field of specialisation is the contemporary architecture of Muslim societies. He has organized numerous international seminars, colloquia and publications dealing with contemporary built environments. 


Andres Lepik is the Director of the Architekturmuseum München. He is also a Professor in Architectural History and curatorial practice at the Technical University of Munich. Andres was the editor of Architecture in Dialogue Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019. 


Brigitte Shim is a professor at the Daniels Faculty and a principal in at Shim-Sutcliffe Architects. She was a member of the 10th cycle of the Aga Khan Architecture Award, a field reviewer for the 11th cycle Aga Khan Architecture award and a member of the Steering Committee for the 13th and 14th cycle. 

Graphic by Chris Lee


Architecture in Dialogue Book Cover

This publication presents the shortlist of the 2017 – 2019 award cycle. From a group of almost 400, 20 projects have been shortlisted by the Master Jury and evaluated by an expert group of technical reviewer. Some of these projects have been honoured with the Aga Khan Award. In addition to detailed descriptions of all projects, this book gathers a series of personal statements from the members of the Steering Committee and the Award’s Master Jury on key issues that were crucial in the discussions for the final selection and assignment of the awards recipients. Assembled together, this book presents a selection o the outstanding examples of sustainable and socially relevant architecture in the world today and opens up fundamental perspective for the planning of the future. 

This book can be purchased through Amazon as well as from most other online shops and local bookstores (upon special order) in Canada.

This book is published by Architangle. You can click on their link for more information and their backlist including  Architecture of Coexistence: Building Pluralism, another publication by the Aga Khan Award for Architecture. The publication deals in-depth with three former Award winners; Superkilen (Denmark, 2016 recipient), the Islamic Cemetery Altach (Austria, 2013 recipient), and The White Mosque (Bosnia and Herzegovina, 1983 recipient).