Back to top

10.17.19 – Donors meet students at the Daniels Faculty's awards breakfast

On Wednesday morning, the University of Toronto's Faculty Club hosted the Daniels Faculty's awards breakfast, where donors who have endowed student awards dine with the young architects and designers who have recently benefitted from their generosity.

More than a dozen donors were in attendance, and so were students from across the Daniels Faculty's graduate and undergraduate programs who had received admission awards or in-course awards.

Also in attendance were a number of Daniels Faculty instructors and staff members, including Dean Richard Sommer, who delivered remarks.

Dean Richard Sommer.

Addressing the donors in the room, he said: "Your generosity in establishing awards is an important means of recognizing the promise, academic excellence, and the sheer talent of so many of our students. And let's not forget the importance of providing financial support for our students in these sometimes difficult times."

Daniels students Elspeth Holland (third-year MLA) and Kevin Nitiéma (fourth-year BA) took the podium on behalf of their classmates to thank the gathered donors. "Congratulations to all the award recipients," said Holland. "It's extremely encouraging to be recognized for our work, and to be enabled to take opportunities that might not [otherwise] have been a financial option."

Students Elspeth Holland and Kevin Nitiéma.

The University of Toronto donors in attendance at the breakfast were:

Mr. Clive Allen, representing the Barbara Allen Memorial Scholarship in Visual Studies.

Ms. Brenda van Ginkel, representing the Professor Blanche Lemco van Ginkel Admission Scholarship.

Mr. Greg Hildebrand, representing the exp Scholarship.

Mr. Pradhan Prabhakara on behalf of Mrs. Komala Prabhakar, representing the Komala Prabhakar Graduate Student Endowment Award.

Mr. Nelson Wong, representing the Nelson Wong Architect Inc. Award.

David Rich, representing the Ontario Association of Architects’ Scholarship.

Ingrid Little, registrar at the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects, and Doris Chee, past president of the OALA, representing the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects Scholarship.

Mr. Brodie Townley and Mr. Taylor Townley on behalf of Ms. Eve Lewis, representing the Paul Oberman Graduate Student Endowment Award.

Mr. Peter Ortved, representing the Peter Prangnell Award.

Mr. Guillermo Cordero, representing the SOPREMA Award.

Mr. John Teshima, representing the Ted Teshima Memorial Leadership Award.

Mr. Carl Blanchaer, from WZMH Architects, representing the WZMH Architects – Oxford Properties Graduate Student Endowment Award.

The Daniels Faculty thanks all its donors for their continued support of our students, programs, and facilities.