Howarth-Wright Graduate Fellowship

For all students travelling on University sanctioned activity, you must complete all safety abroad pre-departure requirements including checking travel advisories, completing safety abroad online workshops, securing travel health insurance and completing the safety abroad registry. More information on the safety pre-departure requirements for university activity abroad is available on the Safety Abroad website.

The Howarth-Wright Graduate Fellowhip provides a student in the Master of Architecture Programme after their second or third year of study the opportunity to study and travel to Frank Lloyd Wright buildings and sites over a minimum of four month period. Applicants must demonstrate high academic achievement, interest in the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, and research skills in architectural history. The recipient will publicly present the results of their work at the Faculty, following the completion of the project.  As well, they will be expected to pursue publication of the research.

This graduate fellowship was created in 2000 through the generosity of former Dean and Professor Emeritus, Thomas Howarth, to enable a graduate student in Architecture to complete a research project while condicting independent study at Taliesin West, Scottsdale, Arizona. Founded in 1937 by Frank Lloyd Wright. Taliesin West is the home of The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, The Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture, and the Frank Lloyd Wright Archives.


The approximate value of this award is $20,00.00. The amount may be divided between 1 to 2 students dependent on the applications received.

This is an in-course (not graduating award). Recipient/s must be registered in/returning to their Daniels degree program in the following academic year.


Application: Travel proposal must clearly demonstrate interest in Frank Lloyd Wright and research skills in architectural history. Applicants must demonstrate high academic achievement. 


2018 - 2019 Christian Huizenga
2017 - 2018 Samantha Eby // Simon Rabyniuk
2016- 2017 Lauren Pamela Marshall
2013 - 2014 Daniel Louis Faibisoff // Brie Smith
2012 - 2013 Dave Freedman
2010 - 2011 Matthew Vincent Spremulli
2007 - 2008  Jesse Colin Jackson // Luke Alexander Stern
2006 - 2007 Jan Tomasz Kroman