Back to top

Peter Prangnell Award

The Peter Prangnell Award provides travel funds to students enrolled in the Daniels faculty. The award will be given on the basis of financial need and the merit of the applicants’ proposals. Applicants must be in good academic standing. Applicants must be Canadian citizens/permanent residents, and must meet Ontario residency requirements (receiving, or eligible to receive OSAP).

The award must be used to travel to a specific location where the student will remain for a minimum of a week to study the way architecture, landscape, urban design, or some other aspect of the human-built modeled environment shapes and/or is shaped by everyday life.

A final report is required of all successful applicant(s) on their return from their trip by October 31st in the same year, with the Faculty to publicize award recipient(s) by name and post aspects of their reports (at its discretion) on the Faculty website and in other communications materials.



Value: The approximate value of this award is $6,220.00. The amount may be divided between 1 to 2 students dependent on the applications received.

This award is an in-course award (not graduating) award. Recipient/s must be registered in/returning to their Daniels degree program in the 2020-21 academic year.


Application: Students must apply for the award by submitting an application and financial need form* and a proposal that details their travel itinerary (including sites to be visited) and budget, as well as a statement of what aspects of common or everyday forms of architecture, landscape, and/or urban design that they plan to study. Students are also required to indicate how the travel will contribute to the development of their further studies.

Information session: Thurs, Feb 13, 2020, 12 to 1:30pm.

Application Deadline: Normally in the late February - early March of each year. The deadline for the 2019-20 academic year is Mon, March 2, 2020, 9am Toronto time.

Application form: Daniels Faculty Travel Awards application


2018 - 2019 Diana Franco Camacho // Alexandra Hovis
2017 - 2018 Justin Gouthro // Devin John Tepleski
2016 - 2017 Parham Karimi // Naomi Shewchuk
2015 - 2016 Elise Misao Allain Hunchuck // Shui Hang Sarah Ko // Sonia Sobrino Ralston