04.11.13 - David Lieberman part of a team selected to submit a design proposal for the National Holocaust Monument

Associate Professor David Lieberman is a member of one of the teams that have been selected to submit a design proposal for a new National Holocaust Monument in Ottawa.

The National Holocaust Monument is intended to honor victims and survivors of the Holocaust and ensure a permanent place in the national consciousness and memory. As of now, Canada is the only allied nation that doesn't have a holocaust monument in its capital. The new National Holocaust Monument will serve to fulfill a symbolic and physical void.

The jury is made up of internationally renowned art and design professionals, a representative from the National Holocaust Monument Development Council, and a Holocaust survivor. A Call for Qualifications was launched in May 2013, inviting teams of professional artists, architects, landscape architects and other design professionals to submit their credentials and examples of prior work at the first stage of a two-phase national design competition. Designs for the Monument will be presented to a jury in the winter of 2014, and completion of the monument is expected for Fall 2015.

The following six teams are finalists:

    Hossein Amanat (architect and urban designer)

    Esther Shalev-Gerz (artist)

    Daniel Roehr (landscape architect)

    Robert Kleyn (architect, project manager)

    David Lieberman (architect)

    – Vancouver, British Columbia

    Leslie M. Klein (Quadrangle Architects)

    Jeffrey Craft (SWA Group)

    Alan Schwartz (Terraplan)

    Yael Bartana (artist)

    Susan Philipsz (artist)

    Chen Tamir (artist)

    Dr. Debórah Dwork and Jeffrey Koerber (Holocaust scholars)

    – Toronto, Ontario

    Gail Lord (museum planner)

    Daniel Libeskind (architect)

    Edward Burtynsky (artist)

    Claude Cormier (landscape architect)

    Dr. Doris Berger (Holocaust scholar)

    – Toronto, Ontario

    Gilles Saucier (architect, Saucier+Perrotte)

    Marie-France Brière (artist)

    – Montréal, Quebec

    Irene Szylinger (art historian and curator)

    David Adjaye (architect)

    Ron Arad (artist/architect)

    – Toronto, Ontario

    Krzysztof Wodiczko (artist)

    Julian Bonder (architect)

    – Cambridge, Massachusetts

For more information, visit holocaustmonument.ca or read the press release on the Government of Canada's website.