27.08.18 - Tiffany Dang (HBA 2014) receives the J.B.C. Watkins Award from the Canada Council for the Arts

Daniels Faculty alumna Tiffany Dang (HBA, Architectural Studies 2014) has received the J.B.C. Watkins Award from the Canada Council for the Arts. The J.B.C. Watkins Award is granted to "a Canadian professional architect wishing to pursue postgraduate studies outside Canada, ideally in Denmark, Norway, Sweden, or Iceland." Recipients are selected by a peer assessment committee and receive $5,000 each.

From the Canada Council for the Arts announcement:

Originally from Edmonton, Alberta, territorial scholar Tiffany Kaewen Dang holds a Master’s degree in Landscape Architecture from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, and has recently been admitted to the Geography PhD program at the University of Cambridge. Her research focuses on the Canadian National Parks System as a colonial infrastructure of racial oppression and territorial conquest, under the premise that if landscape architecture has a continuing role in the colonization of what is today known as Canada, then the subversion of traditional landscape architectural methodologies can be utilized for decolonization. She is currently conducting research as a part of the OPSYS Landscape Infrastructure Lab.

Congratulations to Dang on receiving this award!

Alumni David Verbeek (MArch 2017) and Monica Adair and Stephen Kopp (both MArch 2005) were also recognized by the Canada Council for the Arts this year. Verbeek, a recent graduate, received the Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners, while Adair and Kopp of the New Brunswick-based firm Acre Architects received the Professional Prix de Rome in Architecture.